People's Summit on the Impacts of Reclamation

October 24-25, 2012, University of the Philippines Diliman

The National Reclamation Plan

The Philippine government has given the go signal to the Philippine Reclamation Authority (PRA) to engage in massive land reclamation all over the country through Public-Private Partnerships (PPP) with the adoption of the  Philippine Reclamation Authority Resolution 4161(Approval of the National Reclamation Plan) on February 25, 2011. Under the National Reclamation Plan (NRP), the Aquino government will undertake 102 reclamation projects covering 38,000 hectares of foreshore areas.  

 Thirty eight (38) of these reclamation projects encompassing 26,234 hectares, or 70% of target scope of reclamation will be implemented in Manila Bay. These will cover several coastal towns of Cavite province (Cavite City, Tanza, Noveleta, Rosario, Kawit and Bacoor City), coastal cities of Metro Manila, and coastal towns of Bulacan, Pampanga and Bataan in the Central Luzon region.

 Outside Manila Bay, reclamation is also planned in the Moro Gulf areas in Southern Mindanao Region (238 hectares), for the Cagayan Special Economic Zone (220 hectares),  at the Albay Gulf (100 hectares), in Leganes, Iloilo (1,200 hectares), in Bacolod City (250 hectares), in Semirara, Panay (980 hectares), in Kalibo, Aklan (200 hectares), in Isabel, Leyte (113 hectares), in Talisay, Cebu (250 hectares), in Cordova also in Cebu, in  Panglao, Bohol (400hectares) and in  San Jose de Buenavista, Antique (300 hectares), among others.


For more information about the National Reclamation Plan, you may download the following documents: